About

DSCN1388

Welcome to Hammy Reviews! Read my views on various TV shows, films, and the WWE (don’t let the latter put you off!). A list of my favourite TV shows would include Doctor Who, The X Files, Battlestar Galactica (the modern one), and 24. Film-wise, the only genres that don’t do much for me are muscials and rom-coms. A list of my top ten films would include Gladiator, Black Swan, The Fly, Robocop, The Raid, The Empire Strikes Back, Spider-Man (2002), The Terminator, and Dawn of the Planet of the Apes.

I could go on, but I won’t. Please bear with me, even if you are put off by wrestling! Yes, wrestling is not the most popular of things. Any time I mention my affection for wrestling the usual reaction is ‘it’s fake.’ Well, of course it is! Isn’t Game Of Thrones? Isn’t the latest blockbuster? There’s a disdain for wrestling that I find strange. It’s a relaxing distraction, like most things on TV! It’s larger-than-life, often ridiculous, but sometimes it can grab you like the best TV show. But I digress…

This is simply a space for my views on films, TV Shows, and WWE. My reviews of the WWE Network’s 100 Best Matches to See Before You Die will be a regular occurrence, until I finally see all 100! I’ll also be reviewing WWE NXT every week and the monthly PPV/Special/Whatever it’s called now. I’m always up for discussion and debate, so feel free to add your comments to reviews. Whether you agree or disagree with me, it’s always good to talk. Or so 02 keep telling me.

The picture of the arena of the Colosseum is my own, by the way. I visited Rome with my fiancée in 2014 (I want to go back; so much I didn’t see! Like the Pantheon…). The TV screen/cinema screen is the modern Colosseum, where the people gather round to distract themselves from reality. As Promixo said in Gladiator, ‘We mortals are but shadows and dust. Shadows and dust!’ But we become part of something when watching a film, the TV, or reading a book. We are entertained. Reality becomes an abstraction. And if you are not entertained, what is the point?

So enjoy my thoughts…or at least be entertained by them!

(Also, I’ve been nominated a few times for the Liebster Award…click on picture for link!)

liebsteraward Liebster

liebster 2016

And here’s a nomination for the Sunshine Blogger Award (again, click on picture for link!):

sunshine-blogger-award

And here’s a nomination for the Mystery Blogger Award (click on the picture for the link!):

mystery-blogger-award

And here’s a sappy blog about hammyreviews Second Birthday… Happy Second Birthday To…My Blog!

36 thoughts on “About

  1. Chris Evans May 31, 2015 / 10:06 am

    Great blog, thanks for checking out Geek Blogger UK!

    Like

  2. vinnieh October 14, 2015 / 10:49 am

    Thank you for following my blog. Your site is really neat.

    Liked by 1 person

      • vinnieh October 14, 2015 / 10:51 am

        My pleasure, you’ve got really good taste in movies and television.

        Liked by 1 person

          • vinnieh October 14, 2015 / 6:11 pm

            What do you mean? I’m always charming. I haven’t done something to annoy you have I?

            Like

            • GaryGreg828 October 14, 2015 / 6:13 pm

              No, I was being sarcastic – because you’re always so encouraging to the authors of the blog sites. lol.

              Liked by 1 person

              • vinnieh October 14, 2015 / 6:16 pm

                I understand. How are you doing? It’s been a while since I last spoke to you.

                Like

                • GaryGreg828 October 14, 2015 / 6:18 pm

                  I’m good. You? You can always drop a note on my MISC. discussion board. That’s what it’s there for, to keep in touch.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  • vinnieh October 14, 2015 / 6:20 pm

                    I’m doing well, I’m full of great energy and inspiration. I actually wrote a post on it. Feel free to check my blog out.

                    Like

  3. beetleypete October 14, 2015 / 7:20 pm

    Looks like V is taking over your blog!
    Thanks for the follow, and good luck with your reviews. I don’t watch any of the programmes you mention, and I hate wrestling, so I can’t think why you want to follow the blog of a grumpy old guy in Norfolk. But thanks again, anyway.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. John Charet April 7, 2016 / 8:41 pm

    Great introduction 🙂 Neat list of your top 10 favorite films of all-time: I totally agree with you on David Cronenberg’s The Fly (1986), Paul Verhoeven’s Robocop (1987), which are both great films and I also thought that The Empire Strikes Back (1980), The Terminator (1984) and Dawn of the Planet of the Apes (2014) were very good 🙂 Glad to see you love WWE cause I do too 🙂 Anyway, keep up the great work as always 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hammy Reviews April 7, 2016 / 8:45 pm

      Thank you! However, I have just taken a look through your list of favourite director films and realised I still have a lot to learn and watch!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. April Ivy August 7, 2016 / 1:10 am

    I’m liking this blog. I also like a lot of the movies you list, and coincidently, “Notes from the Underground,” which I’ve been reading lately. I do like the rom-coms though, at least a few of them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hammy Reviews August 7, 2016 / 3:54 am

      Thank you! Glad you are reading Notes From Underground, a classic.
      And there’s nothing wrong with a rom com, as long as it surprises me!

      Like

  6. cfides September 1, 2016 / 10:58 pm

    Hi Hammy, Thank you for following my movie review site. Much appreciated!

    Like

  7. nuwansenfilmsen April 9, 2017 / 3:11 pm

    Am not a fan of wrestling either, but the fact you love it, won’t put me off!! 🙂
    Glad to have come across your BLOG!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s