HAMMY’S TOP 10…OVERRATED FILMS

It’s been a while…but Hammy’s Top 10 Lists are back! I recently watched Brawl in Cell Block 99 and was completely bored stiff halfway into it. Things became even more boring towards the end. But all the reviews I’d read were (very) positive. So what was I missing? I always think there’s something wrong with me when I don’t enjoy something the majority enjoys (and when I enjoy something that the majority don’t enjoy). Of course, we all have our distinct likes and dislikes. But when the majority are against you…is the problem them or you? That got me to thinking…what are the big films that the majority enjoy but I don’t? What are the Top 10 Films that I think are overrated? Here they are…

I always see this film popping up on people’s lists of overrated films…but did anyone really rate it?!?!
  1. Inception

You’ve got to respect Christopher Nolan for putting out a fairly original science fiction film (and having the budget to realise his imagination). But for a film about dreams, there’s hardly anything dreamlike about the film. In my dreams, I turn up to work naked or see a close friend with a horse’s head instead of his own. If I had dreams like Inception’s depiction of dreams, I’d definitely see a psychiatrist. I’ll admit, it’s intermittently exciting, but bogged down by reams of exposition. And the ending always make me groan.

Click here for my full review!

  1. Saving Private Ryan

You may as well switch off after the brutal and bloody Normandy landing, because after that this war film becomes an overlong quest to find Matt Damon. You wonder why they’re doing it after much plodding through empty, wartorn streets and Tom Hanks trying to keep you involved. He doesn’t. Apart from Hanks, no one else makes an impression (including Damon himself). I’d rather Ryan not be saved…

  1. The English Patient

There’s only one word to describe this endless film: borefest! I tried to watch it twice, just to make sure my initial feelings about it were correct, but switched it off halfway through. It looks beautiful, but that’s all there is to it. The romance between the two main characters is non-existent, and without that, why should you care about the film at all?

  1. Heat

Apart from the first meeting of Pacino and De Niro, is there anything else to really love about this film? Yes, it’s watchable, but it’s not a film I’d think about re-watching. If I were to re-watch it, I just watch the scene between Pacino and De Niro. I may as well watch another generic crime epic in the meantime.

  1. Citizen Kane

I guess it’s a cliché to call Citizen Kane overrated…but here it is on my list! From a technical standpoint, it’s outstanding. But from every other standpoint, it’s just average. I recently watched Welles’ take on Kafka’s The Trial, and I can say I enjoyed that plenty more than Citizen Kane. Touch of Evil is a better film than Citizen Kane. Citizen Kane is all about the technical aspects; look deeper than that and I’m always disappointed.

  1. Apocalypse Now

Okay, war and musicals are two of my least favourite film genres. But I simply don’t understand the love for this one. To me, it’s better to actually read Heart of Darkness rather than watching this pseudo-adaptation of it. Apart from Ride of The Valkyries playing during the napalm strike, there’s little to like about this film. Brando’s performance is half-decent, but you can tell he doesn’t care anymore. Oh, it’s overly long as well. Cut it down by half an hour and you might have a good film.

  1. Scarface

Of course, I mean the remake, not the original. I’ve only seen both films once, but it’s the original that sticks in my mind. The remake is (like a lot of films on this list!) never-ending. Maybe I have a problem with long films…but I loved Blade Runner 2049 and that was almost three hours long. Al Pacino chews up the scenery as Tony Montana, but even his shtick gets dull as the hours slowly go by. It may be about the death of the American Dream, but it’s one film that threatens to send me to sleep.

  1. The Sound of Music

I’m not a fan of musicals. There are some I’ve enjoyed, but on the whole, I much prefer a musical in Disney or theatre form. My fiancé persuaded me to watch one of her favourite films: The Sound of Music. I thought it would never end. The songs aren’t catchy, everyone talks like a robot and the pacing is terrible.

  1. Reservoir Dogs

I always think there’s something wrong with me when I give this film another chance. When the credits roll, I always feel bored and frustrated. What was the point of it all? Why are all these people named after colours? What am I missing? I’m a fan of Tarantino’s, but I can’t understand the love for his first feature film. It’s alright…I guess, but nothing more than an average crime drama with a bit of non-linearity thrown in the mix.

  1. Lord of the Rings Trilogy

I’ll just clump all these together as one film, but I’ll reserve a special mention for Return of the King. Why did it receive so many Oscars? It’s the worst one of the lot! Okay, fantasy isn’t a genre I’m particularly fond of, but no matter the genre, I can appreciate the film if it’s good. I find the three films a slog to watch. I fell asleep twice whilst watching The Two Towers at the cinema. Return of the King never seemed to end! All three simply bore me to death. I’ll never understand why people want to watch extended versions of these already bloated films.

Click here for my Top 10 Underrated Films

Agree or disagree? Any you’d take away or add? What is your Top 10?

21 thoughts on “HAMMY’S TOP 10…OVERRATED FILMS

    • Hammy Reviews January 16, 2018 / 7:55 pm

      I loved it when I first saw it. But the second time I wondered why I liked it so much…

      Like

  1. Reggie's Take January 17, 2018 / 8:29 am

    Only movie I will comment on that you have in this list is Saving Private Ryan. Is it overrated? I’m not willing to say its overrated, but it is a bit long if your just looking for one person. I might have a different view of this movie simply because when I saw Saving Private Ryan in theaters, just two seats over was an elderly gentlemen who was there with his wife who actually was a part of D-Day and he held his wife’s hand the entire movie and wiped his eyes a lot the first 30 minutes of the movie. I didn’t talk to him for very long after the movie ended, but he did tell me the film was very accurate with the brutality of war. It was something that touched me in the fact he would come to a movie that was recreating something he had experienced in real life.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hammy Reviews January 17, 2018 / 1:27 pm

      Maybe it’s because I’m not a fan of war films in general. I do like some, but I’m always put off by a large cast of characters

      Like

    • Hammy Reviews January 17, 2018 / 1:26 pm

      Never understood the love for Scarface. It just goes on and on…

      Like

  2. badparentingweb January 17, 2018 / 5:23 pm

    I know I’m late to the party on this one, especially after Rick tore it apart in that one episode of R&M, but I absolutely HATED Inception. We genuinely turned it off just under half way through and never looked back. I never understood the hype. Cool idea, cluster-F execution.

    Totally agree with Avatar and Heat (the most convulated film starring a billion action stars). Heat sucked INCREDIBLE amounts of ass. The rest, however, I’ll have to respectfully disagree.

    To my knowledge, Apocalypse Now is pretty revered for filmogrpahy (among other things) and classic lines (“I love the smell of napalm in the morning… smells like… victory.”) Reservoir Dogs is one of my all-time favorites. It nails the campy dialogue that Tarantino tries for (and fails miserably with in endeavors like “Death Proof”) in every film. Scarface was amazingly violent and graphic for it’s time, not to mention a career-builder for Pacino (I assume people thought he was wicked versatile for playing a South American).

    The Lord of the Rings trilogy is genuinely one of the finest films ever made, if for no other reason than costume, set (and incredible attention to detail), score and filmography, not to mention how faithful it was to the original books (which are were obviously legendary before the film).

    Anyway, just my two cents. I think the AFI agrees with me, at least on LOTR and Kane. Oh, yeah, Citizen Kane: easy to get bored, especially with today’s audience, but the cinematography, use of lighting, and script are just epic. I’ve done some back reading on the writers and depictions of writers in this film, so I’m probably a bit biased.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hammy Reviews January 17, 2018 / 5:42 pm

      I can appreciate Citizen Kane for it’s technical achievements, but it lacks a compelling narrative. Think the hype train for it also spoils the experience.
      LOTR fails to keep my attention! The first one is decent, but cannot endure the other two. Yes, it looks splendid, but my attention span can’t cope with it! But I’ve never been a big fan of the books either.

      Liked by 1 person

      • badparentingweb January 17, 2018 / 5:48 pm

        I think not liking the books is definitely going to kill the appeal for you. Like Kane, I studied the books (and Tolkein’s influences) extensively in college, so it carries greater meaning to me. I’m curious, though, were your viewings of the director’s cuts, or the standard-length films. The directors cuts can make those films pretty tedious if you aren’t already geeked out.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Hammy Reviews January 17, 2018 / 5:55 pm

          Standard! Saw them at the cinema first (my girlfriend at the time loved the books), and watched them again on DVD (for the same girlfriend!). The things you do for romance!

          Liked by 1 person

    • Hammy Reviews January 23, 2018 / 8:26 pm

      I mean, it’s alright…but I much prefer the original!

      Like

  3. Couchfims March 22, 2018 / 11:21 pm

    I agree that while all are not bad. They are all overrated with the exception of “Apocalypse Now”.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.